Tufts University Logo Arts and Sciences

Search  GO >

this site tufts.edu people
Tufts University Arts and Sciences    
Tufts University

Dean's Office

The Office of the Dean of Arts and Sciences is home to key members of the academic and administrative leadership of the School. The Dean's Office is located in the historic building, Ballou Hall, situated on the academic quad of the Medford/Somerville Campus.

The School of Arts and Sciences comprises the College of Liberal Arts, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, as well as the College of Special Studies. This College provides opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to study at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts and the New England Conservatory. The Dean of Arts and Sciences is responsible for all undergraduate and graduate departments and programs, as well as research centers and institutes under the scope of Arts and Sciences.

There are 26 departments and numerous interdisciplinary programs offering undergraduate majors and minors within the School of Arts and Sciences. Twenty of these departments also grant graduate degrees, and 3 departments grant graduate degrees only. Currently, the School offers 13 different doctoral programs. We also offer a number of professional certificate programs through the Graduate School. The School enrolls approximately 4,600 undergraduate students and 1,000 graduate students each year.

Did You Know?

The Class of 2010 is the first A&S class to enroll with a mean SAT greater than 1400 and 83 percent rank in the top 10 percent of their high school class.