Tufts University Logo Department of Music

Search  GO >

this site tufts.edu people
Tufts University

Emeritus Faculty

Daniel Abbott, Associate Professor of Music, emeritus
Biography coming soon.

T.J. AndersonT.J. Anderson, Professor of Music, emeritus is one of the leading composers of his generation. He was born August 17, 1928 in Coatesville, Pennsylvania and received degrees from West Virginia State College, Penn State University, and a Ph.D in Composition from the University of Iowa. He also holds several honorary degrees. After serving as Chairman of the Department of Music at Tufts University for eight years, Thomas Jefferson Anderson became Austin Fletcher Professor of Music and in 1990 became Austin Fletcher Professor of Music Emeritus. He now lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina where he devotes full time to writing music.

Jane A. Bernstein, Austin Fletcher Professor of Music Emerita.
B.A., City College of New York, 1967. M.Mus., University of Massachusetts, 1968. Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 1974. Musicologist.
Primary research interests center on Renaissance music, women's studies, and nineteenth-century Italian opera. In 1999, she won the Otto Kinkeldey Award from the American Musicological Society for Music Printing in Renaissance Venice: The Scotto Press (1539–1572) and, in 2005, her book Women's Voices across Musical Worlds was named a finalist for the Pauline Alderman Award from International Alliance for Women in Music. Her other major publications include Print Culture and Music in Sixteenth-Century Venice (2002), the thirty-volume series The Sixteenth-Century Chanson, Philip Van Wilder: Collected Works, and French Chansons of the Sixteenth Century. She is currently working on a book about music print culture in Renaissance Rome.

Bernstein has received fellowships and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Council of Learned Societies, the American Philosophical Society, and the Gladys Delmas Foundation for Venetian Studies. In 2005 she was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She served as President of the American Musicological Society in 2008-10 and was conferred Honorary Member of the Society in 2014.

Mark DeVotoMark DeVoto, Professor of Music, emeritus.
B.A., Harvard College, 1961. M.F.A., 1963, and Ph.D., 1967, Princeton University. Composer, writer, and musicologist. Compiler, Mostly Short Pieces: An Anthology for Harmonic Analysis. Co-author (with Walter Piston), Harmony, 5th edition. Research on Alban Berg, Debussy, Schubert, Stravinsky, history of late nineteenth and early twentieth-century music. Appointed 1981. Visit his webpage for more information on Professor DeVoto and a short version of his CV.

Janet SchmalfeldtJanet Schmalfeldt, Professor of Music, emeritus. B.A. and B.Mus., Lawrence University; M.M.A., Piano Performance, Yale School of Music; Ph.D., Music Theory, Yale University, 1979. Author of Berg's Wozzeck: Harmonic Language and Dramatic Design, and of articles on analysis-performance relationships, Berg's Piano Sonata, Op. 1, works by Purcell, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, and Chopin, and the idea of musical form as process. President, New England Conference of Music Theorists, 1993-95. President, Society for Music Theory, 1997-99. Performances as pianist have included chamber, concerto, and solo music. Her new book was released in Spring 2011 by Oxford University Press; its title is In the Process of Becoming: Analytic and Philosophical Perspectives on Form in Early Nineteenth-Century Music. Appointed 1995.

School Kids Concert

Faculty/Staff Quicklinks:

Regular Faculty
Applied Faculty
Department Staff
Department Info:
Main Office Hours:
Mon-Fri: 9 am – 5 pm

Box Office Hours:
Mon-Fri: 11 am – 4:30 pm

Department of Music
Granoff Music Center
20 Talbot Avenue
Medford, MA 02155
Directions | Parking