CI Staff and Board

Confucius Institute at Tufts University is governed by a ten member Board of Directors, six from Tufts University, and four from Beijing Normal University.


The six Tufts Board Members are:

  • David Harris (Chair of Board)´╝îProvost and Senior Vice President
  • James Glaser, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • John Barker, Dean, International Education and Extended Programming
  • Joseph Auner, Dean of Academic Affairs, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Scott Sahagian, Executive Administrative Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Xueping Zhong, Professor of Chinese, Program Director, Chinese Program

The four BNU Board Members are:

  • Chuansheng Liu, Vice Chair of board, Chancellor
  • Zuoyu Zhou, Vice President
  • Changbao Guo, Dean, College of Chinese Language and Literature
  • Kai Xiao, Director, Office of Confucius Institute Affairs