Skip to main content
School of Arts and Sciences

Endowed Faculty Fellows

Endowed Funds for Excellence in Teaching and Research

The following funds have been established by generous donors to support the School of Arts and Sciences faculty.

Bernstein Faculty Fellows Fund
Donors: Leonard Bernstein, D.M.D., M.P.H., A53, D56, A01 and Dr. Jane Holmes Bernstein
Year Established: 2006
The Bernstein Faculty Fellows Fund enhances Tufts' ability to attract and retain the very best scholars and teachers amongst the junior tenure-track faculty, and help them to develop the career balance between teaching, advising, and mentoring with research activities/scholarly studies.


  • Daanika Gordon, Sociology (2020-2021)
  • Andrea Acevedo, Community Health (2019-2020)
  • Frank Lehman, Music (2018-2019)
  • Kendra Field, History (2017-2018)
  • Brooke Kelsey Jack, Economics (2015-2016)
  • Moon Duchin, Mathematics (2013-2015)
  • Randall Akee, Economics (2010-2012)
  • Sarah Sobieraj, Sociology (2009-2010)
  • Hee-Sun Lee, Education (2008-2009)
  • Genevieve Walsh, Mathematics (2008-2009)
  • Ioannis Evrigenis, Political Science (2007-2008)
  • Avner Baz, Philosophy (2006-2007)
  • Hugh Gallagher, Physics and Astronomy (2006-2007)
  • Gary Bedell, Occupational Therapy (2005-2006)
  • Marina Bers, Child Study and Human Development (2005-2006)


Neubauer Fund for Faculty Excellence
Donors: Joseph E. Neubauer, E63, J90P and Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer
Year Established: 2007
The Neubauer Fund for Faculty Excellence elevates the quality of the faculty in the humanities and social sciences by providing resources for salary and start-up packages offered to new faculty members.



  • Kimberly Bain, English
  • Steve Cicala, Economics
  • Sarah Fong, Studies in Race, Colonialism, and Diaspora
  • Jasmine Mote, Occupational Therapy
  • Caleb Scoville, Sociology


  • Maurice Parent, Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies
  • Eoin McGuirk, Economics
  • Natasha Warikoo, Sociology


  • Daanika Gordon, Sociology
  • Felipe Dias, Sociology
  • Rachelle Mozman Solano, SMFA
  • David Antonio Cruz, SMFA


  • Annie Pfeiffer, German
  • Adolfo Cuevas, Community Health
  • Cedric DeLeon, Sociology
  • Diana Martinez, Art History


  • Andrea Acevedo, Community Health
  • Tatiana Chudakova, Anthropology
  • Federico Esposito, Economics
  • Alecia McGregor, Community Health
  • Jill Weinberg, Sociology


  • Rachel Applebaum, History
  • Alan Finkelstein-Shapiro, Economics
  • Shameka Powell, Education
  • Nick Seaver, Anthropology
  • Shomon Shamsuddin, Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning


  • Kyle Emerick, Economics
  • Jennifer Eyl, Religion
  • Kendra Field, History
  • Frank Lehman, Music
  • Paul Meuntener, Psychology


  • Laura Gee, Economics
  • Keren Ladin, Occupational Therapy and Community Health
  • Jeremy Melius, Art History
  • Nathan Wolff, English


  • Nimah Mazaheri, Political Science
  • Noe Montez, Drama and Dance
  • Natalya Baldyga, Drama and Dance
  • John Lurz, English
  • Dilip Ninan, Philosophy


  • Weiping Wu, Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning
  • Helen B. Marrow, Sociology
  • Brian A. Hatcher, Religion


  • Elizabeth Foster, History
  • Stephan Pennington, Music
  • Dennis Rasmussen, Political Science
  • Kamran Rastegar, German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literatures


  • Zeina Hakim, Romance Languages
  • Kenneth Garden, Religion
  • Ichiro Takayoshi, English
  • Ariel Goldberg, Psychology
  • Kris Manjapra, History


  • Andreea Balan Cohen, Economics
  • Radiclani Clytus, English
  • Kelly Greenhill, Political Science
  • Tama Leventhal, Child Development
  • Alisha Rankin, History
  • Ayanna Kim Thomas, Psychology


Knez Family Faculty Investment Fund
Donors: Debra Smith Knez, J82, A09P and Brian Knez, A09P
Year Established: 2012
The Knez Family Faculty Investment Fund supports efforts to recruit and retain exceptional junior level faculty in the School of Arts and Sciences.


  • Shan Jiang, Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning (2018-2019)
  • Anthony Romero, SMFA (2017-2018)
  • Nathan Ward, Psychology (2016-2017)
  • Mimi Kao, Biology (2015-2016)
  • Benjamin Wolfe, Biology (2014-2015)
  • Yu-Shan Lin, Chemistry (2013-2014)
  • Muthoni Ngatia, Economics (2013-2014)


Merrin Fund for Faculty Excellence
Donors: Edward H. Merrin, A50, A80P, A82P, A85P and Vivian Merrin, A80P, A82P, A85P
Year Established: 2006
The Merrin Fund for Faculty Excellence supports faculty development at the School of Arts and Sciences per the discretion of the dean of the School of Arts and Sciences.


    • Kasso Okoudjou (2020-2021)
    • Jill Van Tongeren, Earth and Ocean Sciences (2019-2020) 
    • Luke Davis, Chemistry (2018-2019) 
    • David Smythe, Math (2017-2018)
    • Zarin Machanda, Anthropology (2016-2017)
    • Peter Love, Physics and Astronomy (2015-2016)


    John Richard Skuse, Class of 1941, Memorial Fund for Faculty Development
    Donors: The Estate of J. Richard Skuse, A41
    Year established: 1999
    The John Richard Skuse, Class of 1941, Memorial Fund for Faculty Development supports faculty development for social science departments at Tufts University.