Skip to main content
School of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Grants, Fellowships, & Awards

Major Grants in AY 2017-2018

A&S is pleased to recognize 17 faculty and administrators who have received major grants in FY17-18. The recipients are:

  • Michelle Bowdler received $500,000 to fund her one-year project on Changing Campus Climates: A Targeted Strategy to Respond to and Prevent Campus Sexual Assault.
  • Elizabeth Crone, Biology, received $2,136,945 from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to fund her five-year project, Will climate-mediated phenological shifts affect population viability? A test with butterflies on Department of Defense lands.
  • Brian Gravel, Education, James Adler, Mathematics, and Timothy Atherton, Physics & Astronomy, received $451,730 for a three-year project, Collaborative Research: Integrating Computational Making Practices in STEM Teaching. 
  • Joshua Kritzer, Chemistry, received $977,640 from NIH for his four-year project, Cell Penetration Profiling for Biotherapeutics.
  • Keren Ladin, OT, received $1,865,703 from Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute to fund her four-year project, Promoting autonomy and improving the quality of life for older patients with renal disease and their family caregivers through decision-aids to improve shared renal decision-making and end-of-life planning.
  • Tama Leventhal, Child Study, received $499,993 for her two-year project, Community Resources that Promote Mexican Origin Children's STEM Education across Diverse Families.
  • Michael Levin, Biology, received $894,361 from Defense Advanced Research Project Agency for his two-year project, Somatic computation via bioelectricity for novel learning machines.
  • Melissa McInerney, Economics, received $1,0808,023 for her four-year project, Access to Care by Low Income Senior Medicare Beneficiaries: Direct and Indirect Effects of Medicaid Policy on Enrollment, Healthcare Utilization, Spending and Health.
  • Mitch McVey, Biology, received $754,881 from NSF for his three-year project, DNA repair by alternative end-joining in Drosophila.
  • Michael Romero, Biology, received $1,025,381 from NSF for his five-year project, Melding Mathematical and Theoretical Models of Stress.
  • Charles Sykes, Chemistry, received $448,292 for his three-year project, Understanding and Controlling Coupled Molecular Motion on Surfaces.
  • Sam Thomas, Chemistry, received $423,694 for his three-year project, Photoinduced Charge-Shifting and Self-Assembly of Photochromic Polyelectrolytes.
  • Roger Tobin, Physics, received $1,000,000 from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute to fund his five-year award on HHMI Undergraduate Science Education Grants 2017 Inclusive Excellence.
  • Arthur Utz, Chemistry, received $533,483 from NSF for his three-year project, SusChEM: Chemical Dynamics of Polyatomic Molecules at Surfaces: New Insights into Complex Systems from State-Selected Studies.
  • Benjamin Wolfe, Biology, received $700,000 from NSF for his three-year project, Ecological and evolutionary constraints on the design of synthetic microbiomes.

Fellowships in AY 2017-2018

In addition to the aforementioned grants, our faculty secured grants and fellowships from numerous corporations and foundations including:

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, American Cancer Society, American Parkinson’s Disease Association, American Psychological Associates, Annie E. Casey Foundation, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Caplan Foundation, Comer Family Foundation, Cummings Foundation, Inc., Davis Educational Foundation, Devens Enterprise Commission, Drummond Scientific Company, Duy Tan University, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Google, Inc., Grammy Museum Foundation, Inc., Greenwall Foundation, Harvard University, IBM Center for the Business of Government, John Templeton Foundation, Keurig, Kress Foundation, Mayo Clinic, Mide Technology Corporation, Price Waterhouse Coopers, Robotics Education & Competition Foundation, Rockefeller Brothers Fund Inc., Simons Foundation, Smart from the Start, Templeton World Charity Foundation, Inc., The Boston Foundation, United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley, Inc., Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin Institute for Advanced Study, and Woodrow Wilson Center. Faculty also continued to receive funding from the following government agencies and national laboratories: Children’s Trust Fund, City of New York, NY, NASA, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Institute of Standards and Technology, NIH, NSF, U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Department of Energy, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Endangered Species Office in Honolulu.

Awards and Honors in AY 2017-2018

  • Julian Agyeman, professor of urban and environmental policy and planning, was given the Athena City Accolade Award by the Centre for the Future of Places at KTH Royal Institute of Technology.
  • Amahl Bishara, associate professor of anthropology, received the prestigious Jean Rouch Award from the Society for Visual Anthropology.
  • Moon Duchin, associate professor of mathematics, and Ani Patel, professor of psychology, were both awarded fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.
  • Maya Erdelyi, SMFA lecturer of film and animation, was selected as a Brother Thomas Fellow by the Boston Foundation.
  • Sasha Fleary, assistant professor of child study and human development, received a Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health award from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).
  • Kelly Greenhill, associate professor of political science, won the Emerging Scholar Award from the International Security Studies Section of the International Studies Association.
  • Boris Hasselblatt, professor of mathematics, was named Nachdiplom Lecturer at the Mathematics Research Institute in Zürich.
  • Keren Ladin, assistant professor of occupational therapy, received the prestigious Greenwall Foundation's Faculty Scholar award.
  • Rich Lerner, Bergstrom Chair and professor of child study and human development, received the 2018 International Society for the Study of Behavioral Development (ISSBD) Award for Applications of Behavioral Development Theory and Research.
  • Lisa Lowe, Distinguished Professor of English and director of the Center for the Humanities, received the 2018 Nicolás Guillén Outstanding Book Award from the Caribbean Philosophical Association for The Intimacies of Four Continents.
  • Associate Professor of History Kris Manjapra received a fellowship from the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.
  • Chair and Professor of the Department of Drama and Dance Heather Nathans won two awards from the American Theatre and Drama Society: the John W. Frick Award for her book Hideous Characters and Beautiful Pagans: Performing Jewish Identity on the Antebellum American Stage and the Betty Jean Jones Award for excellence in teaching and mentorship.
  • Cynthia Robinson, director of museum studies, received the 2017 John Cotton Dana Award for Leadership from the Education Committee of the American Alliance of Museums.
  • Genevieve Walsh, professor of mathematics, was named Chaire Jean-Morlet, Centre International de Rencontres Mathématiques.