Skip to main content
School of Arts and Sciences

Record Number of Grants and Scholarships Awarded to Tufts Students and Alumni in 2013

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

National Science Foundation Honors Twelve Tufts Alums; Two Undergraduates Receive Goldwater Scholarships

According to Anne Moore, Program Specialist, Scholar Development for Tufts University, the awards season is "officially my favorite time of year." This spring, Moore has more reasons than ever to celebrate, as Tufts alumni received a record number of Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards from the National Science Foundation.

According to records, the highest number of NSF grants awarded to Tufts alumni in the past was 11, in 2011 and 2012. Prior to that, the number fluctuated between two and eight. This year, there were 12 Tufts alumni who received grants, and nine who received honorable mentions.

In addition, two Tufts undergraduate students Samuel Bashevkin (A14) and Noah Kurinsky (E14) were named Goldwater Scholars. Since 1993, only eight Tufts students have received this prestigious award, and this is the first year in which more than one Tufts student has been recognized. The foundation's purpose is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

Sam Bashevkin was also named the winner of the Astronaut Scholarship, established in 1984 by the six surviving members of America's original Mercury Seven astronauts. The group provides scholarships for college students who exhibit motivation, imagination, and exceptional performance in the science or engineering field of their major.

Joanne Berger-Sweeney, dean of The School of Arts and Sciences, was enthusiastic in her support for this year's NSF Graduate Research award winners. "Each year, our alumni are recognized for their outstanding contributions to academic research, beyond Tufts. The record number of Tufts alumni who received prestigious awards this year is a testament to the quality of our student body and how their Tufts education serves as a basis for this future success." Anne Moore put it more succinctly, "Hooray for our fantastic students!"

This year's NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program grant recipients represent research conducted across a broad number of departments and disciplines.


Sarah Cannon A12, Comp/IS/Eng—Algorithms and Theoretical Foundations
Caitlin Carroll A10, Economics
Rachel Dolin A09, Public Policy
Hayley Kamin A10, Developmental Psychology
Melissa Liriano GSAS, Chemistry
Thomas Mann A11, Social Psychology
Elizabeth Mishkin A10, Economics
Ryan Orendorff E11, Bioengineering
David Peck A11, Organismal Biology
Arielle Schilit A10, Neuroscience
Zachary Sheldon A11, Cultural Anthropology
Nicholas Skaff A11, Ecology
Judith Wexler A08, Developmental Biology

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950. They are the funding source for approximately twenty percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

These Tufts or Tufts-affiliated scholars were also recognized for outstanding academic work or research this year:

Chie Kotake—Doris Duke Fellowship for the Promotion of Child Well-Being
Elizabeth Shuey—Doris Duke Fellowship for the Promotion of Child Well-Being
Patty Allen—Davis Foundation Fellowship for research in Eating Disorders
Sarah Gaither—Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship

Awards and Prizes
Natalia Collarte—First Place, American Planning Association, Student Paper Competition