Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2013 Recipients:

  • Samuel Hansen received the Frederick Melvin Ellis Prize for marked athletic versatility, a modest manner, successful academic achievement, and the potential for effective leadership of youth.
  • Christopher Kehayias received the Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.
  • Noah Kurinsky received the Class of 1947 Victor Prather Prize, awarded to engineering or science majors who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge, and a dedication to scholarly achievement.
  • Kevin Li received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • Joseph Rahamim and Robert Rockmore both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • Alek Razdan won the Elizabeth Verveer Tischler Prize in Music Performance.
  • The 2013 recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 were Joshua Levy, Yu Li, and Matthew Ryan.

View this year's awards and honors >