Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2014 Recipients:

  • Ellen Garven received the Class of 1942 Prize Scholarship, awarded annually to seniors considered as the most likely to become outstanding university teachers, counselors, or administrators.
  • Samuel Hansen received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • Lesya Horyn received a scholarship from the Steven J. Eliopoulos and Joyce J. Eliopoulos Endowed Fund for Undergraduate Research in Physics and Astronomy in order to support undergraduate students who have shown promise in the field of physics as they become involved in research projects and complete senior theses.
  • Noah Kurinsky received the Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry. Noah was also awarded a scholarship from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering, the Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.
  • Kate Voorhes and Matthew Wiens both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • George Wojcik received the Prize Scholarship of the Class of 1882, honoring an undergraduate students with great potential for intellectual leadership and creativity.
  • Isabel Yannatos received the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award, recognizing outstanding academic work in any of the sciences by a student who is a scholarship recipient.
  • The 2014 recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 were:
    • Charles Brickley
    • Mukesh Ghimire
    • Chukwuemeka Oguike
    • Ava Sanayei
    • Riley Wood
    • Ziliang Yang

View this year's awards and honors >