Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2015 Recipients:

  • Julia Fowler received the Multicultural Service Award, recognizing an undergraduate who has made significant efforts to define Tufts as a multicultural environment in which race, ethnicity, religion, class, gender, and sexual preference are not barriers to the full enjoyment of community membership.
  • Lesya Horyn received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • Erin Kado-Fong received the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award, recognizing outstanding academic work in any of the sciences by a student who is a scholarship recipient. Erin was also awarded a scholarship from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering, the Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.
  • Alek Razdan and Isabel Yannatos both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • George Wojcik received the Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.
  • The recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12:
    • Tyler Chen
    • Ethan Donowitz
    • Alexander Golin
    • Elijah Martin

Sigma Pi Sigma

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership, and the society has some 75,000 historical members. We are pleased to honor our Tufts majors who have been nominated for membership in this society.


  • Mitchell Black
  • Jackson Burzynski
  • Matthew Cardarelli
  • Mukesh Ghimire
  • Lesya Horyn
  • Ian Hunter
  • Matthew Peterson
  • Joshua Port
  • Benjamin Preis
  • Alek Razdan
  • Michael Schneider
  • George Wojcik
  • Isabel Yannatos

View this year's awards and honors >