Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2016 Recipients:

  • Mitchell Black received the Frederick Melvin Ellis Prize for marked athletic versatility, a modest manner, successful academic achievement, and the potential for effective leadership of youth. Mitchell also was one of only two students in the country to be honored with the NCAA's 2016 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship, which recognizes student-athletes for outstanding academic achievement and the potential for success in postgraduate study.
  • Jackson Burzynski received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • Adina Feinstein and Erin Kado-Fong each received summer fellowships from the Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium.
  • Erin Kado-Fong received the Class of 1947 Victor Prather Prize, awarded to engineering or science majors who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge, and a dedication to scholarly achievement. Erin also received the prestigious national Astronaut Scholarship from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation for exceptional college students pursuing degrees in science and technology.
  • Julia Fowler received the Pride On The Hill Award to honor undergraduate or graduate students who have contributed the most to an understanding at Tufts of gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender identities during the preceding academic year.
  • Mukesh Ghimire received the Class of 1942 Prize Scholarship, awarded annually to seniors considered as the most likely to become outstanding university teachers, counselors, or administrators.
  • Ian Hunter and Daniel Norman both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • Matthew Peterson received the Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.
  • This year's recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 are:
    • Ipek Emekli
    • Kevin Halliday
    • Robert Hrabchak
    • Lukas Mathison
    • Samuel Nave
    • Amit Patel
    • Richard Preston
    • Adam Rayfield
    • Danielle Skufca
    • Joshua White

Sigma Pi Sigma

2016 Sigma Pi Sigma members
2016 Sigma Pi Sigma Ceremony

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership, and the society has some 75,000 historical members. We are pleased to honor our Tufts majors who have been nominated for membership in this society.


  • Tyler Chen
  • Erin Kado-Fong
  • Daniel Garfield
  • Jake Hellman
  • Anastasia Korolov
  • Andrew Mascioli
  • Zachary Pagel
  • Freddy Saia

View this year's awards and honors >