Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2017 Recipients:

  • Sarah Elghor and Andrew Mascioli both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • Justin Hudson received a summer fellowship from the Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium.
  • Anastasia Korolov received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • Jed McKinney received the Class of 1911 Prize Scholarship, honoring seniors of engaging personality who, from matriculation as freshmen to their senior year, have made the most progress as measured both by academic record and by successful participation in extracurricular activities of enduring worth.
  • John Merfeld received the Ellen C. Myers Memorial Prize, awarded to a junior or senior who has shown character, diligence, and perseverance in achieving high scholarship standards in the face of adverse circumstances while working toward a bachelor's degree at Tufts University.
  • Freddy Saia received the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award, recognizing outstanding academic work in any of the sciences by a student who is a scholarship recipient.
  • Zachary Pagel received the Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.
  • This year's recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 are:
    • Mathias Barth
    • Matthew Chang
    • Xizhao Chen
    • Xinzhi Guo
    • Elias Marcopoulos
    • Ely Novakoski
    • Rayleigh Parker
    • Yonatan Segev
    • Hermes Suen

Sigma Pi Sigma

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership, and the society has some 75,000 historical members. We are pleased to honor our Tufts majors who have been nominated for membership in this society.

2017 Sigma Pi Sigma members
2017 Sigma Pi Sigma


  • Cassidy Driscoll
  • Lisa Fantini
  • Sydney Holway
  • Taiyi Hua
  • Jingcheng Huang
  • Thomas Keller
  • Justin Lee
  • James McDowell
  • John McGowan
  • Jed McKinney
  • Peter Riley
  • William Simon
  • Daniel Spencer
  • Emily Van Milligen
  • Glenn VanWinkle

View this year's awards and honors >