Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2018 Recipients:

  • Cassidy Driscoll received the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award, recognizing outstanding academic work in any of the sciences by a student who is a scholarship recipient.
  • Lisa Fantini received the Class of 1947 Victor Prather Prize, awarded to engineering or science majors who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge, and a dedication to scholarly achievement.
  • Jordan Kemp received the Class of 1911 Prize Scholarship, honoring seniors of engaging personality who, from matriculation as freshmen to their senior year, have made the most progress as measured both by academic record and by successful participation in extracurricular activities of enduring worth.
  • John McGowan and Rayleigh Parker both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • Emily Van Milligen received the Ellen C. Myers Memorial Prize, awarded to a junior or senior who has shown character, diligence, and perseverance in achieving a high scholarship standard in the face of adverse circumstances while working toward a bachelor's degree at Tufts.
  • Glenn VanWinkle received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • This year's recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 are:
    • Daniel Bekai
    • Natalie Bohm
    • Mark Gonzalez
    • Catherine Melsky
    • David Stern
    • Joao Marcos Vensi Basso

Sigma Pi Sigma

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership, and the society has some 75,000 historical members. We are pleased to honor our Tufts majors who have been nominated for membership in this society.


  • Thomas Magerlein
  • James Miller
  • Jonathan Minoff
  • Ben Nissan
  • Ely Novakoski
  • Rayleigh Parker
  • Benjamin Zager

View this year's awards and honors >