Past Awards and Honors

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud of the accomplishments of all of our students. Our majors frequently receive awards and recognition for their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements at Tufts and beyond.

2020 Recipients:

  • Natalie Bohm received the Donald A Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, awarded to juniors or seniors whose academic achievements and personal qualities of leadership and high principle have been outstanding.
  • Eoghan Downey received the Karno Dean's Award for Academic Excellence and Leadership, awarded to three sophomores (one from each college) who have shown great promise in their academics and demonstrated leadership on or off campus.
  • Mark Gonzalez received the Class of 1947 Victor Prather Prize, awarded to engineering or science majors who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge, and a dedication to scholarly achievement.
  • Kai Kharpertian received the Ellen C. Myers Memorial Prize, awarded to a junior or senior who has shown character, diligence, and perseverance in achieving a high scholarship standard in the face of adverse circumstances while working toward a bachelor's degree at Tufts.
  • Samantha Livermore received the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award, recognizing outstanding academic work in any of the sciences by a student who is a scholarship recipient.
  • Courtland Priest and Joao Vensi Bassoreceived the Benjamin G Brown Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.
  • Jared Hwang and Michael Rosenbaum both received the N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics, recognizing outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.
  • David Stern received the Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarship. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.
  • This year's recipients of the Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12 are:
    • Miles Arnett
    • Alexander Denby
    • Eoghan Downey
    • Olif Hordofa
    • Samantha Livermore
    • Huyen  Pham
    • Nicolas Ragusa
    • Leyla Rami
    • Edward Robbins
    • Youssef Soliman
    • Abigail Wilson

Sigma Pi Sigma

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership, and the society has some 75,000 historical members. We are pleased to honor our Tufts majors who have been nominated for membership in this society.


  • Donovan Brady
  • Bayley Cornish
  • Ryan Donaldson
  • Jared Hwang
  • David Janowsky
  • Samantha Livermore
  • Teddy Pena
  • Kai Stewart
  • Jacob Sunnerberg

View this year's awards and honors >