News & Events

Department News

Jordan Kemp

Jordan Kemp Awarded the Carl A. Rouse Fellowship by the National Society of Black Physicists
November 2017
We are pleased to announce that undergraduate physics major Jordan Kemp was selected for the Carl A. Rouse Fellowship. This fellowship was established by the Rouse family in honor of the Late Dr. Carl Albert Rouse. It is awarded each year to up to two undergraduate students who have demonstrated both a commitment to pursuing science as an academic major and a strong interest in astrophysics. The fellowship committee seeks qualified African American applicants. Fellows are supported through the NSBP and the generous contribution of the California Institute of Technology. As part of this fellowship, Jordan was invited to speak at the NSBP's national conference on November 3rd at Morehouse College in Atlanta, GA. He presented on research from his summer fellowship with LIGO titled "Temperature Control and Coupled Oscillator Modelling for LIGO Voyager." Please join us in congratulating Jordan on his accomplishments.

Image credit: LIGO/Caltech/MIT

Nobel winner Barish, Thorne, and Weiss

Former Member of Tufts' Physics and Astronomy Department Rainer Weiss Wins the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics
October 2017
In February 2016, the LIGO and VIRGO collaborations created a shockwave when they announced the first observation of gravitational waves, predicted 100 years earlier by Albert Einstein. Since then, this discovery has received a lot of media attention (for example this New York Time article), captivating the public imagination. The LIGO and VIRGO experiments are based on laser interference techniques developed by Rainer Weiss in the 1960s. Prof. Weiss later co-founded the LIGO project and obtained NSF funding for initiating the project. In reward for his decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves he was awarded half of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics, the other half being shared between Kip Thorne and Barry Barish. Rainer Weiss spent most of his career as a faculty member at MIT, but his first faculty appointment was as an assistant professor at Tufts from 1962 to 1964. He is the second Nobel laureate that worked at Tufts, joining particle physicist Allan Cormack in this very distinguished category. Both were members of the Physics and Astronomy department!

Physics and Astronomy Defeats Mathematics at Annual Softball Game
September 2017
At the annual softball match between the Mathematics department and the Physics and Astronomy department, Physics and Astronomy prevailed with a final score of 7-4. Fifteen department members participated, including faculty, staff, postdocs, graduate students, and undergraduates. We all had a lot of fun being outdoors on a beautiful fall afternoon. Thanks to everyone from both departments who played and came to watch and cheer us all on. A special recognition goes out to those who were trying out softball for the very first time, and those who returned to the field for the first time in years. We are looking forward to next year's match!

2017 Solar Eclipse

Viewing of Partial Solar Eclipse
August 2017
Graduate students set up a telescope outside of the Collaborative Learning and Innovation Complex (CLIC) to view a partial solar eclipse, using a special filter to view the eclipse safely. Several members of the department and even passers-by got a chance to view this exciting celestial phenomenon. In Medford at the height of the eclipse, the moon covered about 63 percent of the sun. You can learn more about how solar eclipses work. The next solar eclipse visible in North America will be in April 2024.

View past news >