Minor Requirements

Students who have declared a minor in one of RCD’s areas of concentration prior to Fall 2022 can choose to follow the new requirements, consistent across the concentrations, listed here below, or they can follow the previous minor requirements.

It is currently possible to minor in five (5) of our areas of concentration:

  • Africana Studies
  • Asian American Studies
  • Colonialism Studies
  • Latinx Studies
  • Native American and Indigenous Studies.

Each minor requires the completion of five courses, carrying fifteen (15) or more credits.

  • Requirement 1 (One introductory course):
    RCD 50, Introduction to Studies in Race, Colonialism, and Diaspora
  • Requirement 2 (One methods course):
    RCD 150, Methods in Studies of Race, Colonialism, and Diaspora
  • Requirement 3 Three courses in the area of concentration

NOTE: Students should review course listings to determine which courses count toward the area of concentration. All courses taken for an RCD minor must be taken for a letter grade. Courses with a letter grade of C or lower will not be accepted toward the minor. A maximum of two courses from the minor may be double counted for another major or foundation or distribution requirement.

Download RCD Minors' Checklist