Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Strategic Plan

In Spring 2020, Dean James Glaser asked the Assistant/Associate Deans of Diversity and Inclusion (ADDIs) Bárbara Brizuela, Nandi Bynoe, and Jacqueline Dejean to engage in a Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice (DEIJ) strategic planning process for the School of Arts and Sciences. Under the leadership of the ADDIs, an ad hoc committee was formed, which included faculty, staff, and students from a variety of areas across A&S. With an eye toward transformation not only of policies and processes, but also of institutional culture, the strategic planning committee began discussions over the course of the 2020-2021 academic year and solicited feedback from the broader student, faculty, and staff community.

Drawing from this work as well as from findings of past diversity reports, current findings from the President's workstreams, and developments occurring through departments, this document lays out the actions that the committee deems necessary to become a truly anti-racist institution. The plan is envisioned as a blueprint for the school's DEIJ work in the years to come. 

Read the School of Arts and Sciences’ Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Strategic Plan

To submit comments and feedback, please email asdei@tufts.edu

Ad Hoc Committee Members

Subcommittee A - Student Admissions, Recruitment, and Retention

  • Kamaro Dini Abubakar, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs 
  • Noah Barrientos, Co-Chair, Subcommittee A, Department Administrator for Mathematics and Classical Studies
  • Jacqueline Dejean, Co-Chair, Assistant Dean of Research A&S, Assistant Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, GSAS
  • JT Duck, Dean of Admissions
  • Elizabeth Johnson, Associate Registrar
  • Jenny Jun-Lei Kravitz, Graduate Student, Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Program
  • Anthony Romero, Professor of the Practice, School of the Museum of Fine Arts
  • Philip T.B. Starks, Associate Professor of Biology
  • Roxana Woudstra, Director of Graduate Admissions

Subcommittee B - Curriculum, Undergraduate and Graduate

  • Eve Abraha, Undergraduate Student A21
  • Nandi Bynoe, Co-Chair, Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kimberly Doan, Associate Director of Accessibility Services
  • Khary Saeed Jones, Professor of the Practice for Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies 
  • Kareem Khubchandani, Assistant Professor of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies
  • briana Sevigny, Director of Community Standards

Subcommittee C - Faculty & Staff Hiring, Retention, Training/Support

  • Julian Agyeman, Professor of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning
  • Quetzalli Barrientos, Humanities Research and Instruction Librarian
  • Bárbara Brizuela, Co-Chair, Professor of Education, Dean of Academic Affairs, Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kevin Lovaincy, Graduate Student, Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Program
  • Ayanna Thomas, Professor of Psychology, Director of Graduate Studies
  • Aya Ross, Assistant to the Deans of Academic Affairs